Fiction Finalists

Practical Jean Room Cities of Refuge Annabel Death of Donna Whalen

Trevor Cole for Practical Jean, McClelland & Stewart
Emma Donoghue for Room, HarperCollins Publishers
Michael Helm
for Cities of Refuge, McClelland & Stewart

Kathleen Winter for Annabel, House of Anansi Press
Michael Winter
for The Death of Donna Whalen, Hamish Hamilton Canada

Non-Fiction Finalists

What Disturbs the Blood Defiant Spirits Tangles Ptarmigan's DilemmaQueen of Malabar 

James FitzGerald for What Disturbs Our Blood: A Son’s Quest to Redeem the Past, Random House Canada
Ross King for Defiant Spirits: The Modernist Revolution of the Group of Seven, Douglas & McIntyre/McMichael Canadian Art Collection
Sarah Leavitt for Tangles: A Story About Alzheimer’s, My Mother and Me, Freehand Books
John Theberge and Mary Theberge for The Ptarmigan’s Dilemma: An Exploration into How Life Organizes and Supports Itself, McClelland & Stewart
Merrily Weisbord for The Love Queen of Malabar: Memoir of a Friendship with Kamala Das, McGill-Queen’s University Press

Established in 1997, the Rogers Writers’ Trust recognizes Canadian writers of exceptional talent.  The winners will be announced November 2nd.