2010 Rogers Writers’ Trust Award Winners

The Writers’ Trust of Canada announced the 2010 winners on November 2nd and presented six literary prizes totalling $147,000, one of the richest literary prize-giving events in Canada.

  • Emma Donoghue for Room
  • James FitzGerald for What Disturbs Our Blood: A Son’s Quest to Redeem the Past
  • the Writers’ Trust of Canada/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize went to Devon Code for his shot story “Uncle Oscar,”
  • three more authors received awards for their excellence in literature, Miriam Toews, Polly Horvath, and Myrna Kostash.

An additional award for volunteerism was presented to magazine editor and former Writers’ Trust Board Chair John Macfarlane.

Read the full press release about these Canadian Literary Awards and about the McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize Stories.