Dogs make us more human! 

I think maybe once before I went nuts for a book in the first few pages.  Well, I’m at page 8 (the end of Chapter 1) of “The Art of Racing in the Rain” by Garth Stein, and I feel terrible for anyone who doesn’t get the chance to read this book!  In fact, it is so good, I want to read it out loud so anyone in my immediate vicinity gets to share in this golden cache of insights into being human as seen through the eyes of Enzo, the main protagonist, a far from perfect but loveable character.

Garth Stein’s book is so clever … based on a sublimely complex yet falsely simple premise “… when a dog is finished living his lifetimes as a dog, his next incarnation will be as a man.”  Enzo is more than ready to become a man but wants to take all his memories, all his experiences with him … to imprint them in someway onto his soul  “… a thing that has no surface, no sides, no pages, no form of any kind.”

Watch and listen to Garth Stein discussing the book here.

I have always said dogs make us more human … then I met Enzo.  Now, I truly get it.

Raven Stole the Moon

Heather Lo from Book Addiction recommended another title by Garth Stein, “Raven Stole the Moon“.  It’s loaded onto my Kindle!  I’ll keep you posted but in the meantime you can read Heather’s review.

UPDATE:  Finished the book.  The story line held me captive; the writing was not up to Garth Stein standards.  Discovered it was something he wrote 15 years earlier than “The Art of Racing in the Rain”.