I just had to share this … Bolt in the Blue shares her mom’s EASY homemade bread recipe and methods, with great pics that do make it look easy. Time for me to step up from my own easy bread making – Irish Soda Bread – and give this a try!  Let me know how your’s turns out …

a bolt in the blue

Growing up in my family, bread wasn’t just an everyday occurrence, it was an event. When it came straight out of the oven, we stood around as my mother tipped the loaf on its side and deftly sliced off the end, releasing a puff of steam into the air. No matter what time of day it happened to be, at least half of the first loaf never made it to the cooling rack. Bread, butter, cold glass of milk; this was my childhood.

You may think that I grew up knowing how to whip up a batch of my own, but that’s not the case. My mother never actually taught me or my sisters how to make bread, and it was always such a part of our lives that we never thought to ask. It was always just there. It sustained us.

This past year, I finally asked for…

View original post 524 more words