Mary at Camera Combo spent the Canada Day long weekend in Sparta, Ontario at the 200th Anniversary Celebrations.  She shares some great images and interesting facts about this historic town … a vicarious nostalgia trip for me. Before I moved to the GTA in the early 1990’s from London, Ontario I spent many a delightful Sunday afternoon with family and friends in Sparta enjoying the scones and tea and doing a little shopping.

Camera Combo

A perfect slice of strawberry-rhubarb pie at Sparta’s barbecue lunch after a parade celebrating the Southwestern Ontario town’s 200th Anniversary.

Sparta, originally a Quaker community, is a destination for bus tours: Red Hat tours, Elgin County Quilting Trail tours and Agri-tourism. The residents’ passion for preserving the town’s early Quaker and agricultural heritage is everywhere.

In the four days I visited Sparta, I watched a lively parade with bands, floats and Shriner’s clowns, I ate lunch at the Community Centre barbecue (the perfect pie), I attended a dinner-dance at Quai du Vin Winery with 300 attendees under an enormous white tent set amidst rows of grape vines, I visited the Quaker Meeting House for a Sunday morning service and I enjoyed a peaceful musical interlude under old maples at a Garden Tea Party on the lawn of the United Church. There were other events: baseball games, St. Thomas…

View original post 18 more words