I love to start my day reading a little poetry.  At random I pull down book of poetry from the shelf and flip the book open to an arbitrary page.

Without judgment or censorship, I’m going to share whatever I find on that random page with you. I’d love to hear what you think about the poem and/or the poet, your reactions, what feelings or memories the piece evokes.

Today’s off the shelf selection is from Love Poems a collection by Nikki Giovanni.

Poetry Is a Trestle

poetry is a trestle
spanning the distance between
what i feel
and what i say

like a locomotive
i rush full speed ahead
trusting your strength
to carry me over

sometimes we share a poem
because people are near
and they would notice me
noticing you
so i write X and you write O
and we both win

sometimes we share a poem
because i’m washing the dishes
and you’re looking at your news

or sometimes we make a poem
because it’s Sunday and you want
ice cream while i want cookies

but always we share a poem
because belief predates action
and i believe
the most beautiful poem
ever heard is your heart
racing

indexCare to share your thoughts?