Every so often I pull a book of poetry from the shelf. Today it’s a recent gift from a great pal, “Undercurrents: New Voices in Canadian Poetry” edited by Robyn Sarah.

I flipped the book open to a random page and without judgment or censorship, I share what I found at page 111 with you: Shelter by E. Alex Pierce.

I’d love to hear what you think, your reactions, what feelings or memories the piece evokes:

SHELTER

We were there in that dark with the bleat
and the crying around us. I could still hear you,
in that other language, speaking to them, to the lambs.11106191

I stood still and wouldn’t move,
fearful to go and fearful to stay,
the storm’s voice coming from without,
the animals’ voice, within.

And I knew them, that they were safe now.

The the luxury of the lambs came down,
and you were there where you wished to be,
upon me, rippling out and outer
with a sound of wind over wind and rain over rain,
of wool over wool and flesh over flesh,
the sound of a sound folding into itself,
until my bones were glad to that frame
over which my skin, like a tent, had stretched itself.

Publisher: Cormorant Books
ISBN-13: 9781770860049
Cover art and design: Angel Guerra/Archtype

Other “Off the Shelf” Selections.